Chakras for Beginners

Chakras for Beginners – Comprehensive Guide

Chakras for Beginners is meant to be an introduction or first look into chakras. There have been many benefits to accessing and understanding your chakras. I hope that Chakras for Beginners will be an easy guide to understand and maybe something that you can refer back to in the future. I plan to add more articles related to Chakras for Beginners but more advances. My goal is to help you access the 7 main chakras so that they may benefit your life to the fullest. Feel free to leave any suggestions in the comments that may make the Chakras for Beginners guide more beneficial.

What is a Chakra?

You may have already heard the word “Chakra” but what is it? This guide on Chakras for Beginners is meant to be a comprehensive guide that you can refer to as often as you’d like. There are 7 chakras. A chakra is a center of spiritual power that is located in the human body. You may have heard the expression “power within”. Well, they’re referring to you chakras. There are several mini chakras that exist in our bodies and 7 major chakras. These 7 major chakras run along the spine and act as major energy centers that power our entire bodies. Don’t worry, we’ll go into this more below. Chakras have become so important and popular because they are so powerful once fully utilized.

Brief History of Chakras

The whole idea of chakras originated in India. Chakras came from an ancient text called the Vedas between 1500 and 500 BC. The word “Chakra” comes from the Sanskrit word cakra, which means ‘wheel’ or ‘circle’. These wheels are spinning wheels of light that converge in the body. It is easy to imagine these wheels as spinning energy centers that power the body.

7 Chakras and What They Mean

Chakras for Beginners
The image to the left shows where each chakra is located along the spine. Below is a full list of each chakra and what it means.


This chakra is located at the top, near your head, and has a soft, violet color. It is associated with the brain, the central nervous system for all you medical people. This chakra deals with information, emotions, and understanding. A good crown chakra knows how to cope with problems and develop a strong, spiritual connection with a higher power. And problems with the crown chakra can lead to emotional and psychological problems.

Third Eye

The famous third eye is located at the center of the forehead, slightly above eye-level, and has a solid purple color. This is the chakra of curiosity and knowledge. This chakra leads you to question everything, even spirituality itself. A good third eye chakra has good intuition and wisdom. Any problems with this chakra can lead to a lack of foresight and mental ability.


The throat chakra is a blue color. It is the chakra of communication, creativity, and self-expression. This chakra is associated with the important thyroid and parathyroid glands. This chakra helps you to understand who you really are and leads to effective communication. A good throat chakra allows you to easily synthesize many different ideas. Problems with the throat chakra can lead to dishonesty, a lack of creativity, and a difficult time with
communicating with others.


The heart chakra is a strong, green color. It is the middle of the 7 major chakras. The heart chakra is the center of love, compassion, and a deep sense of peace and harmony. This is a very powerful chakra and some even say that this is the chakra that contains the soul. This is the chakra that allows us to fall in love and have deep, romantic feelings of intimacy. It leads us to desire long-term relationships with a loved one. This chakra is not limited to romantic love but also platonic love. Problems with this chakra can lead to a lack of compassion and inhumane behavior.


The solar chakra is bright, yellow color and is located a few inches above the naval. This chakra is associated with the digestive system and is the main center for your emotional life. The solar chakra leads to feelings of success, happiness, laughter, and joy. Your ambition and commitment are located in the solar chakra. Any problems with the solar chakra can lead to anger, frustration, and a lack of motivation.


The sacral chakra is an orange color and is located between the base of the spine and the naval. It is concerned with the circulatory system and reproductive system. It’s an important emotional chakra that represents desire, sexuality, and creativity. A strong sacral chakra can help you achieve balance with your emotions. Problems with the sacral chakra can cause compulsive and obsessive behavior, which can lead to bigger emotional problems.


The root chakra is sharp, red color and is located at the base of your spine. This chakra is the closest to the earth and is primarily concerned with survival. Before focusing on any of the above chakras, it is vital to first satisfying the root chakra. This is because without survival none of the other chakras even matter. This chakra controls your fight of flight response and survival instincts. Problems with the root chakra may lead to paranoia and fear.

Chakras for Beginners – Conclusion

Chakras for Beginners is meant to be a comprehensive first look into chakras. If you found this article to be helpful or insightful in any way then please leave a comment below with your thoughts or beliefs on chakras.

  • soaringeagle54

    I have begun delving into the world of crystals. I like this easy to understand article. I knew each chakra was connected with different parts of the body

    • Thanks for the reply, soaringeagle54! That’s very interesting. We’re going to update this article in the future and we’re also going to add a new, comprehensive article on crystals as well!

      • soaringeagle54

        I can’t wait for your research assistant to get busy so you can get your next article posted.